Event box

3rd Tuesday Lunchtime Concert Series: Music & Poetry

3rd Tuesday Lunchtime Concert Series: Music & Poetry

Join us for an afternoon of words and music, a powerful juxtaposition of jazz music and poetry. This is a great opportunity to witness the energy of improvisational collaboration between artists of different mediums! Maybe you'll even find some inspiration to create words and sounds of your own.

 

Von Disco is a popular Boulder-based progressive jazz and hip-hop fusion band. As the musical half of the monthly Jazzetry event at Laughing Goat, Von Disco has made a new name for themselves as potent collaborators with the poetry community. (Jesse Hunter - Guitar. MC. Electro-tweaks;  Tyson Bennett - Keys. Moog. Vocoder; Eric Imbrosciano - Beats.)

 

Eric Shoemaker is a current MFA student in the Jack Kerouac School of Disembodied Poetics. He is the editor in chief of BEATS -- A Naropian Periodical and founder of Poetry Is, a local production company. 

 

Ellie Swensson is poet, performer, and the founder and executive director of Boulder Writers Warehouse, a shared studio space and venue for workshops and performances. 

 

Date:
Tuesday, Oct 17 2017

Tuesday, Nov 21 2017
Tuesday, Jan 16 2018
Tuesday, Feb 20 2018
Tuesday, Mar 20 2018
Tuesday, Apr 17 2018
Tuesday, May 15 2018
Tuesday, Aug 21 2018
Tuesday, Sep 18 2018
Tuesday, Oct 16 2018
Tuesday, Nov 20 2018
Tuesday, Dec 18 2018
Tuesday, Jan 15 2019
Tuesday, Feb 19 2019

Time:
12:00pm - 1:00pm
Time Zone:
Mountain Time - US & Canada (change)
Location:
Canyon Theater
Library:
Main Library
Categories:
  Concerts